If you sustained an injury caused by someone else’s negligence, you have a right to pursue fair and just compensation for your injuries. However, there is a limited timeframe, also known as the statute of limitations, during which you must file this claim. If the time runs out on the statute of limitations, you will no longer be able to file your claim and, therefore, will lose your chance of obtaining the compensation you deserve. Not all states have identical statutes of limitations, so it is crucial to understand the rules of your own state.
Here is what you need to know about the statute of limitations in the state of Missouri:
- The statute of limitations for bringing a personal injury claim to civil court in Missouri is 5 years, beginning on the date you sustained the injury. If you fail to file your claim within this 5 year period, the court will refuse to hear your case. There is a 2 year period for Medical Malpracitce and a 3 year period for wrongful death cases.
When you file a personal injury claim, you might be able to receive compensation for medical treatment, lost wages, damaged or lost property, loss of consortium, pain and suffering, punitive damages and more. You should not have to be burdened with paying for the expenses associated with your injuries, so make sure you consult with a personal injury attorney as soon as possible to avoid missing the statute of limitations deadline.
Sedalia Personal Injury Attorney
At Kempton & Russell, our skilled personal injury attorneys in Sedalia have over 60 years of trial-tested experience and have recovered tens of millions of dollars on behalf of our clients. If you sustained injuries due to another party’s negligence, reach out to us today to obtain the individualized representation you need to secure the compensation you deserve.
Call our office at (660) 722-4115 to schedule a free initial consultation with a knowledgeable member of our team.